The short answer: the best time to take NMN is whatever time you will actually repeat, and evening is not disqualified
The best time to take NMN is not one settled hour. It is a choice between a well-argued default, morning with water, on the theory that it matches the body's own daily NAD+ rhythm, and one real trial that quietly contradicts it: the only human trial that split people into a morning group and an evening group found the evening group posted the largest effect sizes of the four groups on sleep quality and lower-limb function, not the smallest.
No trial anywhere in our file tested NMN with food against NMN without it, and on splitting a dose, one label already answers it: one to two capsules a day.
What the NMN label we read suggests, on the theory it matches a daily NAD+ rhythm from circadian-biology research.
A 108-person, 12-week trial split adults by clock time. The evening NMN group posted the largest effect sizes on sleep quality and sit-to-stand.
Where blood NAD+ stabilized in the one PK study that sampled weekly, in its 4-week NR stage; its 8-day NMN stage had not leveled off yet.
Cited section by section below, with the study and the date read.
What the trials actually did: the only timing table built from methods sections, not marketing
Exactly one team published a trial that varied the clock time itself, Kim et al. 2022. Everything else is RCTs that had to pick a dosing schedule to run at all, and wrote it into their methods. We pulled six and read what each specified for time of day, food, and single-versus-split dosing. Most say less than you would expect.
| Trial | Dose & duration | Time of day | Food | Single or split |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Irie et al. 2020 PMID 31685720 | 100/250/500 mg, single dose | 9 AM, after an overnight fast | Empty stomach, water only | Single dose per visit, visits more than a week apart |
| Yoshino et al. 2021 PMID 33888596 | 250 mg/day, 10 weeks | Not stated in the paper | Not stated | Not stated |
| Igarashi et al. 2022 PMID 35927255 | 250 mg/day, 12 weeks | Not stated in the paper | Not stated | Not stated |
| Huang et al. 2022 PMID 35821806 | 300 mg/day, 60 days | After breakfast | With food | Two 150 mg capsules, once a day |
| Kim et al. 2022 PMID 35215405 | 250 mg/day, 12 weeks | Morning arm (after waking until 12:00) vs evening arm (18:00 until bedtime; labeled "afternoon" in the paper) | With water; meals not specified | Single: six tablets at once, once daily |
| NAD-brain PK study 2026 PMID 41858901 | 1,200 mg/day NMN or NR, 8-day stage; NR only, 4-week stage | 08:00 and 20:00, fixed | Not specified | Split: 600 mg twice daily (1,200 mg/day) |
Read directly from each paper's methods or PubMed record, September 7, 2026. NR = nicotinamide riboside, a related NAD+ precursor tested alongside NMN in that study.
Only one of six trials, Kim et al., actually varied clock time as a study arm. Only two of six place the dose relative to a meal, Irie (after an overnight fast) and Huang (after breakfast), and they point opposite directions; Kim specifies water but says nothing about meals.
The circadian argument for morning: a real mechanism, tested in mice and cells, not yet in an NMN timing trial
The morning recommendation is not arbitrary. It comes from real biology, just not one tested with an NMN capsule in a human being. NAMPT, the rate-limiting enzyme your body uses to recycle NAD+, and NAD+ itself, rise and fall on a roughly 24-hour cycle in mouse and cell models, per two 2009 Science papers, driven by the same CLOCK-BMAL1 machinery that runs the sleep-wake cycle, with NAD+ feeding back into that clock through SIRT1. That loop is the mechanism behind "take it in the morning." It is real science, and also, by itself, animal and cell-culture biology, not a human trial testing different clock times.
PartiQlar's own label, for the 500 mg capsule read for our companion review, tells buyers to take one to two capsules "daily, ideally in the morning with water," matching this mechanism even though the instruction is not itself sourced to a timing trial. The mechanism argues for morning; the one human trial that tested a clock time leaned the other way. Both facts belong here.
Circadian mechanism: Ramsey et al., PMID 19299583; Nakahata et al., PMID 19286518, both Science 2009, mouse and cell-line studies, read September 7, 2026. Label instruction per PartiQlar's own product page, read September 2, 2026.
With food or empty stomach: what the pharmacokinetics actually show, and the ~2-week window that matters more
Two trials in our file take opposite positions on food, without ever comparing them in the same study.
Irie et al. 2020 gave 10 healthy men a single 100, 250 or 500 mg dose at 9 AM after an overnight fast, water only, and tracked the NMN metabolites 2Py and 4Py in plasma for 5 hours.
Endocrine Journal, PMID 31685720, read September 7, 2026That fasted study reports 2Py and 4Py rising significantly at all three doses, with the 500 mg dose producing a larger area under the curve than 100 or 250 mg; the authors also write that they failed to detect NMN itself in plasma, most likely because of how the samples were frozen, so it is a metabolite study, not a food study. Huang et al. 2022 ran the opposite protocol: two 150 mg capsules once a day after breakfast for 60 days, and reported serum NAD+/NADH up 11.3% at day 30 and 38% at day 60 from baseline, against 14.3% in the placebo group, a gap the paper itself calls not statistically significant. Neither ran the head-to-head comparison that would answer "does food change the outcome," and none in our file did. Meal timing is a comfort choice, not an efficacy one.
What the weekly-sampled data show is roughly two weeks to a blood NAD+ plateau. The 2026 pharmacokinetic study, dosing 600 mg at 08:00 and 20:00, saw blood NAD+ stabilize after approximately two weeks in its 4-week NR stage, ending 120.65% above baseline; its 8-day NMN stage was, in the authors' words, not sufficient to reach stably elevated NAD levels. Igarashi et al. 2022 measured whole-blood NAD+ only at baseline and week 12 at 250 mg/day, and reported it significantly elevated against placebo at that reading, which says NAD+ was up by week 12, not when it got there.
Huang et al., PMID 35821806; Igarashi et al., PMID 35927255; plateau data from the 2026 NAD-brain study, PMID 41858901. All read September 7, 2026.
Night dosing and sleep: the one trial that actually tested it found evening ahead, not insomnia
The most common piece of folk advice against NMN at night is that it will keep you awake. The one controlled trial built to test that question found the opposite.
Kim et al. 2022, published in Nutrients, randomized 108 adults aged 65 and over, recruited in Tsukuba, Japan, into four groups of 27 (mean ages 72.2 to 73.0 by group): NMN in the morning (after waking until 12:00), NMN in the evening (18:00 until bedtime), and matching placebo groups on the same two windows. The NMN groups took 250 mg once a day, six tablets at once with water, for 12 weeks; the paper reports an intake rate above 95% in every group.
The trial's own conclusion: Overall, NMN intake in the afternoon effectively improved lower limb function and reduced drowsiness in older adults.
Kim, Seol, Sato, Fukamizu, Sakurai, Okura, Nutrients 2022, PMID 35215405A labeling note: the paper itself calls this the "afternoon" arm (NMN_PM in its tables), even though the actual dosing window it defines is 18:00 to bedtime, evening by common usage. We use "evening, 18:00 to bedtime" throughout the rest of this page to describe that same clock window; the quote above preserves the paper's own word.
Five-times sit-to-stand test, largest effect size among the groups, in the evening arm.
A medium effect size, the largest among the groups, again in the evening arm.
The largest effect size of the four groups on the PSQI sleep-quality score, in the evening arm; the group-by-time interaction for sleep quality was not significant.
Two caveats the paper prints: sit-to-stand improved significantly in all four groups, placebo included, and sleep quality showed no statistically significant group-by-time interaction, so the evening edge is an effect-size ranking, with sit-to-stand and drowsiness the measures for which the paper reports a significant interaction. One trial, in adults aged 65 and over, does not prove evening is universally better. What it removes is the assumption that an evening dose costs you sleep: in the one trial built to check, the evening NMN group had the largest sleep-quality effect size, not the smallest.
Kim et al., Nutrients 2022, PMID 35215405, read September 7, 2026.
One capsule or two, and if two, how far apart
The dose split question has an easier answer, mostly because a specific label already commits to one. The PartiQlar Pure NMN capsule reviewed here prints 500 mg per capsule and instructs "1 to 2 capsules daily," covering the two common choices: a single 500 mg capsule, or two for 1,000 mg total.
Huang et al. 2022 used a comparable structure at a smaller dose, two 150 mg capsules once a day, a split in pill count, not timing; Kim et al. went further and had participants take six tablets at once. The 2026 pharmacokinetic study did run a genuine time-split protocol, 600 mg at 08:00 and 600 mg at 20:00 in both of its stages, but never a once-daily arm to compare against; its authors write that the data suggest once-daily dosing is sufficient to maintain stable NAD levels, an inference from the kinetics, not a tested arm.
So dividing a total across two sittings roughly 12 hours apart, such as on waking and again in the early evening, now has a trial precedent behind it, the 2026 study's own 08:00 and 20:00 spacing, rather than being pure convention. For a single dose taken at once, the label and the other trial protocols above agree: once daily, at a time you intend to repeat, is the tested pattern.
Label per PartiQlar's product page, read Sep 2, 2026. Split structure per Huang et al., PMID 35821806. Twelve-hour split schedule per the 2026 NAD-brain PK study, PMID 41858901.
Consistency beats timing: the slow-up, slow-down shape the weekly-sampled study found
Step back from morning-versus-evening and look at what every trial here has in common: a daily dose, held steady for weeks, then measured. The clearest picture of rise and fall comes from a 2026 pharmacokinetic study of oral NAD+ precursors at 1,200 mg/day, run in two stages: NMN or NR for 8 days of dosing then an 11-day washout, then NR alone for a longer 4-week run followed by a 3-week washout, with blood sampled weekly in that second stage.
No trial in our file tested a single missed day
Here is the honest gap in the washout data.
- Blood NAD+ rose slowly in the 4-week NR stage, stabilizing after approximately two weeks; the 8-day NMN stage had not reached a stable level when it stopped.
- After dosing stopped, blood NAD+ declined with similarly slow kinetics, most participants back within 15% of baseline after three weeks of washout, not an overnight drop.
- No trial specifically tested what one missed day does; the shape is inferred from the whole-study pattern, not a single skipped dose.
- Occasional larger bursts are not shown to substitute for a daily habit; every trial here ran on a daily schedule.
What this means for you: the trials rewarded showing up every day for weeks, not landing on a particular hour.
NAD-brain PK study, PMID 41858901, 6 healthy adults in stage 1, 6 healthy adults and 6 people with Parkinson's disease in stage 2, read September 7, 2026.
A 12-week timing schedule you can print
The six trials above, put into one practical calendar with the two checkpoints the underlying data actually supports.
Morning with water is the label default; evening is not disqualified by any trial here. Picking one and holding it daily matters more than which one.
Where blood NAD+ stabilized in the 2026 pharmacokinetic study's weekly sampling (its NR stage). Igarashi et al. sampled only at baseline and week 12, so no NMN trial in our file can say when the level flattens. A felt difference, if any, is a separate, less predictable question.
The 10-to-12-week trials above (Yoshino; Igarashi; Kim) are where the measured outcomes, insulin-stimulated glucose disposal, gait speed and left-hand grip, the sit-to-stand and sleep-quality effect sizes, were read. Kim et al. also took a mid-point reading in week 6, where the evening groups' drowsiness improvement already showed.
The same 60-day mark Huang et al. used for their second NAD+/NADH reading, and the length of the sealed-bottle refund window on the PartiQlar capsule this page pairs with, a useful, unrelated reason to reach a decision by then.
The final reading point in the two RCTs that measured physical outcomes (Igarashi at the 12-week visit; Kim in week 13, after 12 weeks of intake). Decide to continue, adjust the clock time, or stop, using your own log rather than the first week's impression.
Checkpoints per the trial durations cited above; the 60-day figure per partiQlar's refund policy, read Sep 2, 2026.
What a fixed schedule gives you, and what it still does not
What it gives you
- A schedule matching how every trial here was run: daily, for weeks, not timed to one hour.
- A fair two-week window before expecting blood NAD+ to have leveled off, per the one weekly-sampled study.
- Permission to try an evening dose without assuming it costs sleep, per the one trial that tested it.
What it still does not
- Proof that one clock time is best for you personally; one 108-person trial is not the final word.
- An answer on food timing; that comparison has not been run.
- Evidence that splitting a dose raises what it does, beyond tolerability.
None of this is medical advice. Blood NAD+ rose in the trials here that measured it; felt effects and long-term outcomes are still early. A doctor's input matters more than any clock, especially if pregnant, nursing, or on medication.
Questions people also ask
Should I take NMN on an empty stomach?
No trial tested NMN with food against NMN without it. Irie et al. 2020 (PMID 31685720) dosed 10 men at 9 AM after an overnight fast and saw NMN metabolites rise at every dose; Huang et al. 2022 (PMID 35821806) dosed two 150 mg capsules once a day after breakfast for 60 days and reported serum NAD+/NADH up 38% from baseline, against 14.3% on placebo, a gap the paper calls not statistically significant. Neither compared the two, so an empty stomach is a comfort choice, not an efficacy one.
Can I take NMN at night?
Yes, and the one trial that compared clock times saw the evening group post the largest effect sizes. Kim et al. 2022 (PMID 35215405) split 108 adults aged 65 and over into morning (after waking until 12:00) and evening (18:00 until bedtime) groups at 250 mg once a day for 12 weeks; the evening NMN group had the largest effect sizes of the four groups for sit-to-stand (d = 0.72), drowsiness (d = 0.64) and sleep-quality score (d = 0.80), though the sleep-quality interaction was not statistically significant. One trial, so not a universal rule, but it runs against the assumption that evening NMN disrupts sleep.
Should I take NMN with resveratrol or a fat source?
Every trial in our file dosed NMN alone, not paired with resveratrol or a fat source, so there is no trial evidence that pairing changes the outcome. Combining ingredients is a formula decision, separate from what time of day you take a single-ingredient capsule, the question this page answers.
What happens if I miss a day of NMN?
The kinetics run slow both ways. A 2026 pharmacokinetic study (PMID 41858901) dosed NMN or NR at 600 mg twice daily (1,200 mg/day) for 8 days, then ran NR alone, a related precursor, for 4 weeks with weekly blood sampling; in that NR stage blood NAD+ rose slowly, stabilizing after approximately two weeks, then declined with similarly slow kinetics, most participants back within 15% of baseline after three weeks of washout. No trial tested one missed day specifically, but that shape suggests a single skipped dose will not erase two weeks of dosing, and that occasional bursts will not speed anything up either.
How we built this page
This is a source-reading page, not a lab test or medical advice. All PMIDs below were read via PubMed on September 7, 2026, except the label, read September 2, 2026, for our PartiQlar Pure NMN review.
- Fasted single-dose metabolite study, 10 men, 9 AM after an overnight fast: Irie et al., Endocrine Journal 2020, PMID 31685720, full text read on J-STAGE.
- 10-week prediabetic-women trial, 250 mg/day, dosing time not stated: Yoshino et al., Science 2021, PMID 33888596.
- 12-week older-men trial, 250 mg/day, blood NAD+ sampled at baseline and week 12 only: Igarashi et al., npj Aging 2022, PMID 35927255.
- 60-day after-breakfast trial, two 150 mg capsules once a day, run by the manufacturer's employee: Huang et al., Frontiers in Aging 2022, PMID 35821806.
- Morning-versus-evening trial, 108 adults aged 65 and over, 250 mg once a day with water: Kim et al., Nutrients 2022, PMID 35215405.
- Plateau and washout kinetics, sampled weekly, NMN for 8 days then NR alone for 4 weeks: the 2026 NAD-brain PK study, iScience, PMID 41858901.
- Numbers a paper reports only as a graph (Igarashi's NAD+ fold change) are not printed here; every figure on this page is quoted from the paper's text or abstract.
- Circadian mechanism (mouse/cell-line, mechanism only): Ramsey et al. and Nakahata et al., both Science 2009, PMID 19299583 and PMID 19286518.
- Label instruction quoted from PartiQlar's own Pure NMN product page.
- A new supplement, or any change in when or how much you take, is worth a doctor's input first, especially if pregnant, nursing, or on medication.
Timing only matters if the capsule delivers its dose
Timing only matters if the capsule delivers its 500 mg, and our PartiQlar Pure NMN review shows the independent lab certificate, the morning-dosing label instruction, and the 60-day sealed-bottle refund rule before you commit to a routine.
Before starting any timing routine, confirm the label states a single milligram figure per capsule, not a blend with no individual amount.
Whatever refund window a brand offers, check if it requires an unopened, sealed bottle before opening yours on day one.
Affiliate disclosure: the review linked below contains affiliate links, and a purchase made through them may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. This page carries no affiliate link of its own.
Read our PartiQlar Pure NMN reviewThe independent lab certificate, the label's own dosing instructions, and the 60-day refund rule, each dated.